Broadaxes

Working With Axes

I throw out a simple proposition for consideration, which is to say, what I am about to share is not to be confused with a claim or conviction, necessarily. We look at our broad-axes with a degree of wonder, I’m sure of it, no matter the style we prefer the big hewing  axes have a particular attraction to anyone with an inclination for axes in the first place which stems, I will claim, from the sheer dimensions involved along with the potentials inherent in possessing and using one.

The tiled mosaic gives some ideas of the variations involved but I will dial in on an even narrower sub-set to the exclusion of the double bevel and in particular the reinforced double bevel of the Swedish or in some cases Finnish axes and consider only the thin bladed single-beveled ones in relation to use and maintenance. Which gets me to the…

View original post 685 more words

